New MFSA Board of Governors Appointed
MARCH 09, 2021

The new Board of Governors of the Malta Financial Services Authority was appointed for a one-year term with effect from 4 February 2021 with Prof. John Mamo being reconfirmed as Chairman for the second term.

The six members of the board are Prof. Edward Scicluna, former Finance Minister and now Governor of the Central Bank of Malta, Dr Philip von Brockdorff, Head of Department at the Faculty of Economics, Management and Accountancy at the University of Malta,  Mr Mark Galea, Head of the Public Finance Unit at the National Statistics Office (NSO), Mr Charles Zammit, formerly a member of the MFSA’s Board of Management and Resources, Dr Stephanie Vella, Economist and Executive Director at E-Cubed Consultants and Dr Carmel Cascun, lawyer.

The Board of Governors is responsible for establishing the policies, risk parameters, and the general strategic direction to be pursued by the Authority. The Board of Governors is also responsible for advising Government on matters relating to the development and regulation of the financial services sector.

NewsHub takes the opportunity to welcome the new board members and reiterates, on behalf of the MFSA team, our commitment towards the MFSA’s mission and objectives, while thanking the Board Governors who offered their service in the previous term and wishing them well in their future endeavours.