Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for establishing the policies and risk parameters to be pursued by the Authority. In determining such policies the Board of Governors follows policy guidelines as set out by Government. The Board of Governors is also responsible for advising Government on matters relating to the development and regulation of the financial services sector. The Chairman and the members of the Board are appointed by the Prime Minister for a term not exceeding five years.



Prof. John Mamo, LL.D, B.Litt.(Oxol), BA



Mr Joseph Gavin, BCL, BL, MBA, JD – (Chief Executive Officer)

Dr Carmel Cascun, BA (Gen), BA (Socio-Legal), LP, FCII, MJur. (European & Comparative Law), NP, LLD

Mr Mark Galea, BCom. Hons (Banking & Finance)

Prof. Edward Scicluna, BA (Hons) Econ, MA (Toronto), PhD (Toronto), DSS (Oxon)

Dr Stephanie Vella, BCom. (Hons) (Econ.) (Melit.), MA (Econ.) (Melit.), PhD (Melit.)

Prof. Philip von Brockdorff, BA (Hons) (Melit.), MSc. (Econ.) (Wales), DPhil. (York), Grad. CIPD (UK)

Mr Charles Zammit, FAIA, FFA, FCMI, Dip. BA




The Board of Governors is also the Resolution Authority for the purpose of Directive 2014/59/EU.