12th March 2002

Notice to all Licence Holders

Malta's alignment with European Union restrictive measures against Zimbabwe

Malta has aligned itself with the EU Common Position 2002/145/CFSP of 18th February 2002 concerning restrictive measures against Zimbabwe in view of the current deteriorating political situation. The EU Common Position contains a list of *twenty persons* against whom these measures are primarily directed, a copy of which is attached herewith.

Article 4(1) of the Common Position makes reference to the freezing of funds, financial assets or economic resources of the persons listed in the Annex who are engaged in activities that seriously undermine democracy, respect for human rights and the rule of law in Zimbabwe. No funds, financial assets or economic resources of the persons listed in the Annex may be made available directly or indirectly to such persons. The Common Position is implemented by Council Regulation 310/2002 of 18th February 2002, also attached for your reference, in particular with regard to Articles 1-5.

Accordingly, with immediate effect, the Malta Financial Services Centre directs all its licence holders to immediately verify their records for the names of the individuals on the list or for any information, transactions or connection whatsoever, in whatever form, whether direct or indirect, relating to the individuals in question. Relevant transactions may relate to funds, financial and other assets, insurance, banking or any other financial services.

Licence holders are required to inform without delay the Malta Financial Services Centre should they identify any information held by them known or suspected to be connected or related in any manner whatsoever with any of the mentioned individuals.

Copies of the EU Council Common Position and of Council Regulation No. 310/2002 are being attached for your information.

Yours sincerely

Edward Carbone Chief Executive

Extract from EU Council Common Position of 18th February 2002 on restrictive measures against Zimbabwe

1. MUGABE Robert Gabriel President, born 21.2.1924, Kutama

2. UTETE Charles Cabinet Secretary, born 30.10.1938

3. MNANGAGWA Emmerson Parliamentary Speaker, born 15.9.1946

4. NKOMO John Home Affairs Minister, born 22.8.1934

5. GOCHE Nicholas Security Minister, born 1.8.1946

6. MANYIKA Elliot Youth Minister, born 30.7.1955

7. MOYO Jonathan Information Minister, born 12.1.1957

8. CHARAMBA George Information Minister's Permanent Secretary and

Spokesman

9. CHINAMASA Patrick Justice Minister, born 25.1.1947

10. MADE Joseph Agricultural Minister, born 21.11.1954

11. CHOMBO Ignatius Local Govt Minister, born 1.8.1952

12. MUDENGE Stan Foreign Minister, born 17.12.1941, Zimutu Reserve

13. CHIWEWE Willard Ministry of Foreign Affairs Senior Secretary, born

19.3.1949

14. ZVINAVASHE Vitalis General (CDS), born 1943

15. CHIWENGA Constantine Lt Gen (Army), born 25.8.1956

16. SHIRI Perence Air Marshal (Air Force), born 1.11.1955

17. CHIHURI Augustine Commissioner (Police), born 10.3.1953

18. MUZONZINI Elisha Brig. (Intelligence), born 24.6.1957

19. ZIMONTE Paradzai Prisons chief

20. SEKERAMAYI Sidney Defence Minister, born 30.3.1944